Question: What Are The 11 South African Languages?

What are the 11 official languages?

South Africa has eleven official languages.

They are Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Sotho, Swazi, Tswana, Tsonga, Venda, Xhosa and Zulu.

Most South Africans (over 99%) speak one of these languages as a first language..

How do you say good morning in all South African languages?

How to say GOOD MORNING in all 11 South African languages: English – Good Morning. Afrikaans – Goeie Môre. Ndebele – Lotjhani. Xhosa – Molweni. Zulu – Sawubona. Sepedi – Thobela. Sesotho – Dumela. Setswana – Dumela.More items…

How do you say goodbye in South Africa?

In typical South African multi-purpose style, ‘aweh’ can also mean ‘goodbye’ or ‘yes’.

Which language is mostly spoken in South Africa?

IsiZuluIsiZulu is the most widely spoken language in South Africa, the first language of close to a quarter of the population. It is the dominant language of KwaZulu-Natal.

How do you say hello in the 11 South African languages?

Predominantly spoken in KwaZulu-Natal, Zulu is understood by at least 50% of South Africans.Hello! – Sawubona! ( … Hello! – Molo (to one) / Molweni (to many) … Hello! – Haai! / Hallo! … Hello – Dumela (to one) / Dumelang (to many) … Hello – Dumela. … Hello – Dumela (to one) / Dumelang (to many) … Hello – Avuxeni. … Hello – Sawubona.More items…•

How many living languages are there in South Africa?

eleven official languagesThere are eleven official languages in South Africa. These are Afrikaans, English, Ndebele (isiNdebele), Northern Sotho (Sepedi), Southern Sotho (Sesotho), Swati (siSwati), Tsonga (Xitsonga), Tswana (Setswana), Venda (Tshivenda), Xhosa (isiXhosa) and Zulu (isiZulu).

How do you say hello in South Africa language?

South AfricaZulu: Sawubona (Hello)Xhosa: Molo (Hello)Afrikaans: Hallo (Hello)English: Hello.

Which is the biggest tribe in South Africa?

With an estimated population of 11 million people, Zulu is known to be the largest ethnic group in South Africa.

What are the 11 official languages in South Africa?

The official languages of the Republic are Pedi, Sotho, Tswana, Swati, Venḓa, Tsonga, Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Xhosa and Zulu.

How many languages do we have in South Africa?

Eleven languagesEleven languages (Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Pedi, Sotho, Swati, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, and Zulu) hold official status under the 1996 constitution, and an additional 11 (Arabic, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Portuguese, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telegu, and Urdu) are to be promoted and developed; all …

How do you say thank you in 11 South African languages?

South AfricaZulu: Ngiyabonga (Thank you to one person)Zulu: Siyabonga (Thank you to several people)Xhosa: Enkosi.Afrikaans: Dankie.English: Thank you.

What is the main dish in South Africa?

bobotieAnother dish thought to have been brought to South Africa by Asian settlers, bobotie is now the national dish of the country and cooked in many homes and restaurants. Minced meat is simmered with spices, usually curry powder, herbs and dried fruit, then topped with a mixture of egg and milk and baked until set.